Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Books Published 5+ Years Ago

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish where we get a new topic for a top 10 list.

This week takes us back to the past, where we look at the books we read that were published a while back. This topic is again a stark reminder of how time flies and I couldn’t believe how old some of these books are. Here are the books I love that were published at least 5 years ago.

1. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson (2010): My first foray into Matson’s books and it definitely made its mark. This book is full of heart and the snippets from the scrapbook Amy creates makes the book all the more engaging.

2. Angelfall by Susan Ee (2011): My favourite angel apocalypse series to date. I loved how dark and twisted this book was. Susan doesn’t shy away from the horrors of living in an apocalyptic world and some of the imagery were downright gruesome at times.

3. Hunting Lila by Sarah Alderson (2011): A book that keeps slipping my mind. I remember really enjoying this book when I first read it and found it to be a fun read.

4. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (2011): This book. ❤ I must admit until I didn’t quite understand the hype surrounding this series until I got to the second book but one thing that was certain is that the writing is exquisite and captivating. It had me desperately wishing I could hop on a plan to Prague.

5. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater (2011): I can’t believe that it’s been 6 years since this book was published. I’m still trying to accept the fact that 2007 was 10 years ago. Time is messing with my head. Anyhow, this book is perfect for rainy days. It’s one of the most atmospheric books I’ve ever read.

6. Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan (2005): It’s been 12 years since we first met a 12 year old Percy Jackson and to this day he is still a force to be reckoned with. I love how he’s been a constant presence in the MG/YA community. It’s almost like we’ve grown up with him.

7. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (2011): One of the first romantic contemporary YA books I read. I must admit I was a bit frustrated by the romance in this  book but by the very end they had me convinced. I actually preferred Anna and Étienne’s cameos in the companion novels than I did to their book.

8. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (2008): The series that got me back into reading. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this series and it was so invigorating to finally read a book for my own enjoyment. For that this series will always have a special place in my little heart.

9. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (2005): The book that destroyed me. I don’t think I’ll ever recover from this book. I’ll admit it took a while for me to get into it but once I did there was no going back. I cried my heart out to this book and I doubt I’ll ever forget The Book Thief.

10. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta (2006): I had no idea this book was 11 years old! I keep saying this but there’s something in the water down under because it’s always an Aussie book that succeeds in reducing me to a blubbering mess. Let it be known that Jonah Griggs is the best of the best book boyfriends.

Those are my favourite books published from at least 5 years ago.
Which books from that time are your favourites?

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Books Published 5+ Years Ago

  1. This is a fantastic list, Lois ❤ I love Amy & Roger's Epic Detour, it made me fall in love with Matson's books just as well. Such a fun story. Also, I so wanted to road trip after reading it ahah.
    I haven't read any of Laini Taylor's books, but… I almost bought that one when I was on holidays. I didn't because I couldn't put billions of books in my suitcase, but seeing you loved it so much makes me want to add it to my basket, you know, for my next book order 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I CAN’T BELIEVE PERCY JACKSON WAS PUBLISHED 12 YEARS AGO. That’s crazy!

    I absolutely LOVEEE Percy Jackson, Anna and the French Kiss and Daughter of Smoke and Bone – THEY’RE SO AMAZING.

    Wonderful list! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was a bit disappointed in the third book in the DoSaB series but the second one really grabbed me. I don’t remember a lot of the details for the sequel to Hunting Lila but I sped through it and enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I still have to read Angelfall! I was so intrigued by it and bought myself a copy yet I never started it, probably because I did not have the others 😅 So happy to see it on this list, that makes me curious to pick it up again!
    It always surprises me when I see how long ago the first Percy book was published!
    Great list, Lois 😉 I haven’t read half of this, but the ones I have I also enjoyed a lot!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They’re definitely great books to kick start someones love for reading. Both books have an addictive quality to them and there’s just a little bit of everything provided to really have you invest in the characters.

      Like

Leave a Reply

