Top Ten Tuesday: Best Reads of 2017 so far

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish where we get a new topic for a top 10 list.

2017 has been a bit of a slumpy reading year. I’ve only read 18 books so far and quite a few of those were re-reads. So, instead of picking my top 10 books of the year so far, I’ve decided to narrow the list to my top 6 books.

1. Crash Into You (Pushing the Limits #3) by Katie McGarry: Prepare yourself cause you are going to be bombarded by a slew of Katie McGarry reviews in the next month. Within this 5 book series one had to emerge as the favourite and that title goes to Crash Into You. Why? Blame it on Isaiah. I have a huge soft spot for this guy and I was so excited to finally see him get his happy ending. With his tattoo’s and bad boy attitude people tend to be wary of Isaiah but when Rachel enters his life, we see his soft side. As the cracks emerge in this tough exterior we get to see just how vulnerable Isaiah really is. These two find themselves in a tricky situation and as they work to get themselves out of this mess a romance blossoms. These two are a perfect match for each other. We see Rachel discover her own strength as Isaiah realises that there are some things you can’t control.

2. The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski: I figured it’d be easier to group this series together instead of going through the books one by one. After years of putting off reading this series I finally took the plunge and somehow made it out alive. This series is emotionally exhausting. It follows Kestrel and Arin, two individuals from enemy races that fall in love but are torn apart by the war between their people. There’s no magic in this world; no warlords and dragons and it reads more like a historic fantasy. It’s a politically intricate story full of cunning schemes, betrayal and heartache. Kestrel and Arin are put through the wringer as both of them embark on a journey that could rip apart the very foundations they believe in. If you’ve not read this series, I urge you to do so. It is undoubtedly one of the best YA fantasy series in existence. If you want to know more about this series check out my reviews on each book and see if I can convince you to read the series. The Winner’s Curse | The Winner’s Crime | The Winner’s Kiss

3. A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) by V. E. Schwab: My most anticipated book of the year and it did not disappoint. Following the painful cliffhanger A Gathering of Shadows left us on, I was itching to find out what happened next. The action is continuous in this book and the magic system is intricate but not without its limits. In the end it is the characters that stole the show. With Osaron unleashing his power on Red London, Kell and Lila are pushed to their very limits to stop him. Each character had their shining moment and while the romantic connections have a significant development, it’s the bond between brothers Kell and Rhy that I found to be the defining relationship. Their bond is unbreakable but in A Conjuring of Light we see them stand on their own two feet and test their own limitations without being dependent on the other.

4. The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta: My current read. I’ve had this book sitting on my bookshelf for the past year or so and my mission of the year is to tick off a lot of these owned unread books. I’m only about a quarter of the way through but I already know that this book is going to leave it’s mark, as most of Marchetta’s books tend to do. As a favourite author, Marchetta has yet to disappoint me and I’m thrilled to get the chance to follow Tom’s journey and check in with the rest of the characters from Saving Francesca.

Those are my best books of 2017 so far.
What has been your favourite read of the year?

34 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Reads of 2017 so far

  1. YES! The Winner’s book were so painful and torturous, but also really rewarding in a way. I’m also thrilled you loved The Piper’s Son. I don’t think it’s my favorite Marchetta book, but I still really loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Piper’s Son is not my favourite Marchetta book either but Tom is making my heart melt right now. Plus I love that we get to check in with Francesca and Will.

      Like

    • I’m with you. I am typically a slow reader and I like taking my time with books, even if they’re addictive haha. Plus my mood reading tendencies are always pulling me in different directions cause I’m too indecisive. On the plus side I find that because I only tend to read about 30 books a year I find that I can identify and chose books that I know I’m likely to enjoy.

      Like

      • Yes, I don’t understand people who can speed through books in a day, personally I like to savour them more! That is true, I’m probably more picky about what I read too as I know I won’t be reading hundreds of books a year.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely list! I’m sorry to hear it’s been sort of a slumpy year so far, I hope it’ll get better 🙂 ❤
    I read the first two books in The Winner's trilogy and I have to admit I always have a hard time getting into the story, I always feel a bit detached at the beginning, but after a couple of chapters the story really grows on me. I'm curious to see how it all ends 😀
    Agreed about A Conjuring of Light: what a fantastic finale! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think things are picking up. My reading mojo is slowly coming back to me haha. The beginning of a book is always the toughest for me. I always expect to be sucked in immediately but find it takes a while for me to actually do so.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great List! I haven’t read the winner’s trilogy yet but I’m planning to binge read it soon. I recently finished V.E. Schwab’s Monsters of Verity Duology and loved it so I can’t wait to start the Shades of Magic series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Winner’s Trilogy is a perfect binge reading sesh. It’s an emotionally exhausting series but so worth it in the end. I’ve been meaning to read Our Dark Duet but I’ve been on such a contemporary kick as of late haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. YES! I am so glad to see The Winner’s trilogy on your list – it is one of my favorite series and I am so glad you enjoyed it as much as I did. 🙂 And VE Schwab is absolutely amazing as well. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you like an intricate magic system and morally ambiguous characters then the shades of magic series is the one for you. I just watched the film version of the Martian and loved it so I’ve been thinking of getting the book.

      Like

    • ACOL was everything I wanted it to be and so much more. I’m still marveling at the fact that Kell made me swoon haha. He can teach me magic any day. 😉 The Winner’s Trilogy is exhausting but so worth it. Kestrel is one of my all time favourite female characters.

      Like

Leave a Reply

