Review: Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

25689074Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection by Marissa Meyer
Publication Date:
February 2nd 2016 by Feiwel and Friends
Rating: 4 Stars
Genre:
Young Adult, Sci-fi & Fantasy – Retelling.
Find:
Goodreads | Amazon
Goodreads Summary
The enchantment continues….

The universe of the Lunar Chronicles holds stories—and secrets—that are wondrous, vicious, and romantic. How did Cinder first arrive in New Beijing? How did the brooding soldier Wolf transform from young man to killer? When did Princess Winter and the palace guard Jacin realize their destinies?

With nine stories—five of which have never before been published—and an exclusive never-before-seen excerpt from Marissa Meyer’s upcoming novel, Heartless, about the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, Stars Above is essential for fans of the bestselling and beloved Lunar Chronicles.


After finishing a series, most of us always want to get the chance to check in with our favourite characters after the conclusion. Stars Above provides us just that. On top of a stunning epilogue we are also treated to a set of short stories that provides more details into the lives of our favourite characters before the events of The Lunar Chronicles take place.

Most of the information divulged in these stories is already alluded to in the main series but to get an insight into the mindset of some key characters, such as Michelle Benoit, heightens the emotion of their circumstances and the harsh reality of the challenges they faced. Personally, the most brutal story is of Wolf’s transformation into an Alpha in Levana’s army and how his position affected his relationship with his younger brother, who was determined to step outside of his shadow. It’s a heartbreak story but made the events in the epilogue that much sweeter.

We also get to catch a glimpse of our other main characters. The Princess and the Guard gives us an insight into the friendship between Winter and Jacin and how they navigated life under Levana’s scrutiny and jealousy. We’re also treated to Cinder’s early life under the care of Linh Garan and his family. This story didn’t add much to what we already knew, but to read about Cinder’s isolation and loneliness in this family was heartbreaking. Thorne also gets his own tale of mischief and while the story was so typically in character for him, it did leave a bit of a sour taste in my mouth at how he treated some people, no matter how understandable his actions are. Kai doesn’t get his own childhood story, but we are treated to an insight into him mind of the moment he first meets Cinder.

However, the story that really took the crown was Something Old, Something New. The epilogue to Winter allowed us to check back in with the characters following the revolution. Here we get to see how the world is faring following Levana’s fall and what the characters are up to. The setting of this epilogue was perfect and did a phenomenal job at closing this chapter of the tale.

For fans of The Lunar Chronicles, Stars Above is a wonderful book. While a lot of the information we get from the backstories isn’t new, the insight into their circumstances before the events of Lunar Chronicles heightens that emotional connection established between the reader and the characters. The epilogue was a perfect conclusion to this series and while I’d love to check in with these characters again in the future, Stars Above was enough to sate that need…for now at least.

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “Review: Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

  1. I love this series, but I haven’t read Stars Above yet, and I really should. It sounds like it’s very lovely overall and I’m especially interested in the epilogue story. The Winter & Jacin book sounds amazing too!
    Great review, Lois!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The book basically just goes into more detail about information that’s already know in the Lunar Chronicles but it was still a fun read and Winter and Jacin’s story was everything. If I had one qualm with Winter it would have been that they didn’t get enough page time.

      Like

  2. I really like the Lunar Chronicles series, but I only checked this one out from the library to read the epilogue story. I admit I think Meyer is better at writing novels than short stories.

    On a somewhat related note, one of my friends works in a bookstore, and apparently publishers’ new thing of taking e-novellas and binding them up in a printed collection with a new title is confusing customers. They come in demanding to buy some of the titles IN the collection, and it’s hit or miss whether they believe her that there’s a printed collection with its own title that includes those stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly the main reason I read the book was for the epilogue as well. The stories were fun but they didn’t add anything new to the series cause we already knew about the events in these short stories.

      I can definitely see the confusion surrounding the publication of the novella’s. Honestly I’d be fine with just having them as e-novellas.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely review! I don’t usually read novellas but I loved that series so much, I couldn’t help but read that one, and I’m glad I did – it was so lovely to get this whole new insight on the story and get back into that world. Did you read Wires and Nerves? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t typically read novellas either but I’d never turn down a chance to get back into the Lunar Chronicles world haha. I’ve not read Wires and Nerves just yet but it’s on the list. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s