Top Ten Tuesday: Auto-buy Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish where we get a new topic for a top 10 list.

Each one of these author’s works have taken me on an emotional rollercoaster. The characters and the world they’ve created have embedded themselves into my heart. For that reason, I will not hesitate to buy their books.

author 10 ten

1. Pierce Brown: His debut trilogy has been nothing but spectacular so far. Red Rising is a combination of badass world building and beautiful character development. His world is quite futuristic in appearance but there is also a brutality in this world that is very reminiscent of the classical antiquities. His characters are very flawed and complex which leads to wonderful interactions between each other. With the PAINFUL ending of Golden Son, I am oh so very eagerly awaiting for the final book of the trilogy, Morning Star, and cannot wait to read his future books.

2. Marissa Meyer: I’ve said this before but she has set the standard for fairy-tale re-tellings. The Lunar Chronicles are an absolutely stunning series. Creating a fascinating, futuristic world whilst infusing elements that embody the fairy-tales makes for a compelling story. However, at the heart of the series are the characters. Each and every single one of our main characters are very interesting. They all come from different backgrounds and yet together they’ve created some sort of family. I cannot wait to get my hands on Winter.

3. Markus Zusak: ‘The Book Thief’ and ‘I am the Messenger’ are the two books I’ve read by Markus. These books have made me feel so much. From pain, to grief, to joy, I’ve been through it all with these books. Not only have these books packed an emotional punch they have also made me think. From the horrors of the world wars, to questions about the future, its these books that have made me think long and hard after I finished them.

4. V. E. Schwab: This year I have binge read all of her published work. If I can comment on anything about Victoria’s writing is that she excels at creating an atmosphere. She also has the ability to find a balance between world building and character development. Neither one dominates the other and this balance makes for a riveting journey.

5. Melina Marchetta: I’m currently reading ‘Finnikin of the Rock’ and I was instantly hooked within the first 50 pages. Her writing is stunning and this contrasts to the brutality of the world she created. Her characters are complex and the way they interact with the society that’s been established in this world is so intricate and fascinating. Admittedly whilst reading ‘Finnikin’, I went to buy all of her other published work, so I’ll definitely be occupied for a while.

6. Huntley Fitzpatrick: When reading contemporaries I place a greater focus on character development and this is something Huntley excels at. Not only are we treated with sweet romances but we also get an insight to the dynamics of family and friendship.

7. Veronica Rossi: I’m including her work under the pen-name ‘Noelle August.’ Whether she’s writing fantasy or contemporary, Veronica has never failed to get me completely hooked on her work.

8. John Green: This man is a must buy. I got every single one of his books in one buy and devoured them. Whilst some of his books (Paper Towns, Abundance of Katherines) haven’t blown me away, they were still a fun, enjoyable read. ‘The Fault in our Stars’ will forever be one of my favourite books and whenever he writes his next piece of work I will by front in line to buy it.

9. Maggie Stiefvater: Maggie is another example of an author that can find this balance between world building and character development. Her writing is stunning and her characters are a wonderful delight. ‘The Raven King’ will prove to be one of the biggest emotional roller-coaster I’ve been on.

10. Susan Ee: I love the mythology surrounding angels. However, one of the tropes I always see with this concept is the fallen angel = bad boy personal. If written well, this trope won’t bother me but I’ve seen this done so many times before. What I appreciate about the Angelfall trilogy is that the angels are not bad boys, and they are not cute cherubs. These are warriors and they are vengeful and fearful. Susan does not shy away from dark, gruesome imagery and has created a brutal apocalyptic world. On top of this our protagonist is fierce, badass and vulnerable. I adore her books.

Tell me, who are your auto-buy authors?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Auto-buy Authors

    • I had no idea what to expect when I read some of the authors’ books and a lot of them caught me by surprise, which in turn took my breath away which eventually led to the list.

      Like

  1. I just read Susan Ee’s Angelfall (i was shying away from it, i don’t know why) and I LOVED it! You are right, she does the angels in a really great way. They aren’t bad boys or good guys. I like how complex she makes their society. And they’re scary too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

