TV Talk: Space Drama, Obsessive Assassin, and Dracula’s Revenge

With so many TV shows in development, it really is becoming harder to choose between all of these amazing shows. Your mood is obviously a massive influence, but it’s surprising to see the variey in the shows I’ve been watching.

Killing Eve

Killing Eve is one of the most addictive TV shows I’ve watched in a long time. The cat and mouse chase between Villanelle and Eve were seductive and surprising with both characters developing an unhealthy obsession with one another. Sandra Oh has already demonstrated her range as an actress, while this show gave Jodie Comer the chance to really showcase her versatility as her performance captured a child-like glee in her job whilst also demonstrating her calculating and sinister nature. The first season does a brilliant job at establishing the tension between these women culminating in a showstopping finale that set the bar for the second season. The one trap Killing Eve might fall into is in turning Villanelle into the lesser of two evils. Vinallenlle is not someone we want to relate to and the sheer brilliance of this show lies in the way writers turned this assassin into one of the most fascinating characters on TV. Continue reading

Advertisements

Waiting on Wednesday: Infinity Son

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

34510711. sy475This week I am waiting on
Infinity Son (Specters, #1) by Adam Silvera

Publication Date: January 14th, 2019

Goodreads Summary
Balancing epic and intensely personal stakes, bestselling author Adam Silvera’s Infinity Son is a gritty, fast-paced adventure about two brothers caught up in a magical war generations in the making.

Growing up in New York, brothers Emil and Brighton always idolized the Spell Walkers—a vigilante group sworn to rid the world of specters. While the Spell Walkers and other celestials are born with powers, specters take them, violently stealing the essence of endangered magical creatures.
Continue reading

Top Ten Tuesday: Auto-Buy Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and Bookish and hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl where we get a new topic for a top 10 list.

We all have our favourite authors, those whose books are so captivating and memorable that any time news of their next book airs has you automatically adding it to your basket. These are my auto-buy authors.

1. V. E. Schwab: Schwab is a powerhouse in fantasy writing. Her Shades of Magic series is one of my all-time favourite fantasy franchises and what makes her an auto-buy author is that I can always count on her to create an immersive fantasy world without sacrificing the pacing of the book or the character arcs.

Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: Chasing Lucky

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

46404345This week I am waiting on
Chasing Lucky by Jenn Bennett

Publication Date: April 7th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
In this coming-of-age romance perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen, a rule-abiding teen embraces her more rebellious side while falling for her ex-boyfriend’s arch-nemesis.

Josie Saint-Martin is well-versed in the art of concealment. Bullied as a child, she’s spent most of her life with her single mother, moving from city to city, covering up what she doesn’t want others to see, comfortable behind the lens of her favorite vintage camera. .until Josie’s grandmother dies and they return to her mother’s historical New England hometown to run the family bookstore. There, Josie pulls off the ultimate camouflage: dating Adrian, the Harvard-bound son of the most influential man in town.

Continue reading

Top Ten Tuesday: Character Spotlight

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and Bookish and hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl where we get a new topic for a top 10 list.

This week is all about characters. Now, there are a lot of angles to take with this freebie, but I thought I’d take the time to spotlight some of the characters that had a lasting impact on my reading experience. These guys have a variety of qualities that make them a standout character in the books.

Continue reading

June Wrap Up 2019

Breaking news, this girl right here finally finished a book. It only took 2 and a half months, but I made it to the final page of Strange the Dreamer and it was as wonderful and magical as I expected it to be. Not gonna lie, the satisfaction of finishing a book was immense, but now I’m back to square one with a conflict on which book to read next.

29748925 

In other news, June was a pretty standard month for me. More work and not enough play, but those random days off were well spent with good company. In terms of blogging, I’ve not been as active as usual, but I was proud of myself for publishing a discussion post and while it’s been a long time since my last book review, I was very satisfied with the outcome of my latest one. Continue reading

What I’ve Been Watching: Time Travel Twists, Dramatic Dinosaurs, and Western Showdowns.

As many of you know, summertime kick starts our movie marathon season. With the projector up and running, we have already watched a plethora of films on the big screen and for the most part, they’ve all been highly entertaining. Here is what I’ve been watching.

Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol & Rogue Nation

Now, I am not a die-hard follower of this franchise. However, there’s something to be said about watching these films on a big screen as it allows us to immerse ourselves in the visual scope of the film. There is no doubt that Tom Cruise embodies the stereotypical action hero trope, but does so in a way that is magnetic. The Mission Impossible franchise has long set the standards for epic action films, but what makes them so compelling is the supporting cast of characters and how their lives and experiences are all interconnected, giving them a sense of history that manifests itself in brilliant character dynamics. Continue reading